Diego’s Story: Chapter 33

            Nicole was so angry that she did not pay attention at all to anywhere she was walking in the palace. She had walked down to the lower levels of the palace where the military conference rooms were. She ran right into Chiaki. Chiaki was surprised to see her.

            “Princess Nicole?” he said, stunned.

            Nicole looked at Chiaki, still angry, and then shocked at the same time.

            Chiaki saw her expression and became serious. “What happened?”

            Nicole looked around at her surroundings and said, “Let’s not talk here.”

            “Okay. Follow me.” Chiaki led Nicole to a room where they could have privacy. He closed the door behind them and then said, “Now, tell me.”

            Nicole started pacing the room angrily. “I try my best to avoid running into him,” she started, “And Then he had to be in the library.”

            “Who are you talking about?” asked Chiaki, confused.

            “That damn king,” said Nicole, “I hate him so much.”

            “I can’t blame you,” said Chiaki, walking to Nicole and stopping her from pacing by placing his hands on her shoulders. “Breathe,” he said, “Did he attempt anything?”

            Nicole then explained to Chiaki what had happened.

            “That bastard,” said Chiaki, “The nerve of him trying anything in our kingdom.”

            “Chiaki, when Diego isn’t around,” said Nicole, “Could you stay by my side so I can avoid him?”

            Chiaki was a little hurt by those words. It then finalized his decision he had been dreading. He hated to change the subject, but he had to let her know. “I’ll keep you safe until you are married,” he said to her, “After that…I’m resigning.”

            Nicole, confused, said, “Resigning?”

            Chiaki sighed and said, “Once you are married, you will no longer need me…and I will no longer need Gastavia.”

            “Chiaki…” Nicole was almost in tears.

            “You’ll have Diego,” Chiaki said, forcing a smile, “What would you need a bodyguard for?”

            “But…”

            “It’s for the best, Princess.”


            And so Chiaki accompanied Nicole back up to the main grounds of the palace. They walked out to the gardens just in time to see Diego appear with Bulma, Bardy, Trunks, and Junior.

            “Wow,” said Chiaki, “He brought the family.”

            Diego Jr. spotted Nicole first. He yelled her name and ran to her and hugged her.

            “Junior!” said Nicole, hugging him back, “I missed you!”

            “Nicole! Guess what! Guess what!” Junior said excitedly, jumping up and down.

            Nicole laughed and said, “What?”

            “My daddy is getting married! I didn’t know what married means, but daddy said that I’m getting a new mommy! I’m so happy!”

            Chiaki smiled at Junior, despite the pain he felt in his heart. “That’s right,” he said to Junior, “You’ll be getting a new mommy. Have you met her yet?”

            Nicole glanced at Chiaki, surprised.

            “Daddy said he’s going to take me to her today!”

            “And you found her,” said Diego, walking up behind Junior. He was followed by Bulma, Trunks, and Bardy.

            “Nicole’s going to be your new mommy, little man,” said Bardy, grinning.

            Junior hugged Nicole again and said, “Yay! I like you!”

            Bulma walked over to Nicole and hugged her. “I’m so excited for you two!” she said to her, “I always knew you two would make the perfect couple.”

            “Welcome to the fam, sis!” said Bardy.

            Nicole laughed.

            “Congrats!” said Trunks.

            Chiaki wanted to walk away, he felt so awkward standing amongst them all, the odd one out. He only stayed because of his promise to Nicole.


(I do not own any of the Dragonball Z characters or any of the storyline directly linked to the series. All said content rights go to Akira Toriyama, the creator of DBZ)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.